Anisfield-Wolf Faculty Summer Seminars

$1,000 Participation Award

The Cleveland Humanities Collaborative is pleased to announce two offerings of a week-long, intensive seminar exploring Natasha Trethewey’s 2021 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award-winning Memorial Drive: A Daughter’s Memoir. The Seminars will operate as learning communities, with alumni of previous years’ seminars guiding the conversation and work each week. All seminar meetings will take place virtually via Zoom.

Seminar 1: Monday, July 19th through Friday, July 23rd

Seminar 2: Monday, August 2nd through Friday, August 6th

Participation Eligibility

  • Faculty from educational institutions in Northeast Ohio and from CWRU’s North Star Institutional Partners.
  • Advanced Ph.D. students in Ohio and from North Star Institutional Partners.
  • Full-time staff from Northeast Ohio educational, arts, and culture

 About the Seminar

The seminar spotlights one of the Class of 2021 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award winners. The seminar emphasizes dialogue and creates space for collaborative discussion of strategies for using Anisfield-Wolf texts in teaching, educational outreach, and community engagement. In addition to discussing how these texts engage race/ethnicity and history, seminar participants will also examine how we teach and have productive dialogue about our history and complex social issues. Seminar meetings will take place for several hours each day, at a time determined by participants, with ample time for reflection, community-building, and intellectual exchange.



About the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

In 1935, Edith Anisfield Wolf established what she initially called the John Anisfield Book Award to honor nonfiction books that furthered the cause of “race relations” (as she later wrote in her will), deepened our understanding of racism, and enhanced our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures. At its founding, the prize took “race relations” to mean relations among black, white and Jewish Americans. Yet, the Award quickly broadened, recognizing books about immigrants and Native American histories. Winners have included Nobel Laureates Ralph Bunche, Toni Morrison, Derek Walcott, Nadine Gordimer, Gunnar Myrdal and Wole Soyinka, along with other major literary figures such as Langston Hughes and Zora Neale Hurston. Nobel Peace Prize winner Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was recognized in 1959 for his book Stride Toward Freedom: The Montgomery Story, well before he became a national figure. Recent honorees have included Marlon James, Margot Lee Shetterly, the poets Marilyn Chin and Jericho Brown, and Lifetime Achievement winners Isabel Allende, N. Scott Momaday, and Sonia Sanchez. More than eighty-five years later, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards have a distinguished history of honoring writers who expanded readers’ grasp not only of race, but of the diversities of disability, religion, ethnicity and gender, drawing from a variety of disciplinary perspectives in the humanities.